UK UNIVERSITY CLASSICS OUTREACH PROGRAMMES

Most universities that teach Classics-related subjects offer a variety of outreach and engagement programmes designed to widen participation in higher education and provide primary and secondary schools with the opportunity to enrich their curriculum.


Each individual university programme will be different, but might include:

  • Open days include university-wide open days, subject-specific days such as the Oxbridge Classics open day
  • Classics ‘taster days’ (mainly targeted at state schools) give you the opportunity to bring your students to a university and learn about a particular area of Classics through expert guided tuition. They offer students of all ages a unique opportunity to experience a university atmosphere and gain an insight into what it’s like to be a student, engage with new ideas and helpful tips from experts in the field, receive inspiring academic talks on various areas of the Classical world, and participate in drama and object-handling workshops. ‘Taster days’ can also be individually tailored for schools and colleges; if you have a specific topic to explore or are looking for curriculum enrichment departments can usuallycater for your needs.
  • University-based talks and workshops for teachers and students
  • School-based talks for teachers who wish to invite a lecturer to come and speak to their students.
  • Ancient Greek and Latin literacy schemes (e.g. ‘Literacy through Latin’ and ‘Literacy through Greek’ in partnership with the Iris Project).
  • Summer schools for teachers and students. This will include Greek, Latin, Ancient History, and Classical Civilisation. For a list of JACT-run summer schools you can visit their website http://www.jact.org/
  • ‘Enrichment’ talks, given by lecturers from the department, for the benefit of local school teachers.

For further information about what activities and events your local university can offer please use the relevant contact information below.


UNIVERSITY OF BIRMINGHAM

WEBSITE:www.birmingham.ac.uk/schools/historycultures/departments/caha/outreach/index.aspx

CONTACT: Dr Elena Theodorakopoulos: E.M.THEODORAKOPOULOS@bham.ac.uk 


THE UNIVERSITY OF BRISTOL

WEBSITE: http://www.bristol.ac.uk/classics/

CONTACT:

Adam Lecznar: adam.lecznar@bristol.ac.uk

Shelley Hales: shelley.hales@bristol.ac.uk


THE UNIVERSITY OF CAMBRIDGE

WEBSITE: http://www.classics.cam.ac.uk/directory/invitation-to-cambridge-2014 

CONTACT:

Dr Ingo Gildenhard: ig297@cam.ac.uk

Jennie Thornber: jlt30@cam.ac.uk

Max Kramer: undergraduate.secretary@classics.cam.ac.uk


DURHAM UNIVERSITY

WEBSITE: www.dur.ac.uk/classics

CONTACT: Dr Ed Richardson: edmund.richardson@durham.ac.uk


THE UNIVERSITY OF EXETER

WEBSITE: http://humanities.exeter.ac.uk/classics/

CONTACT: Dr Sharon Marshall: Sharon.Marshall@exeter.ac.uk


THE UNIVERSITY OF GLASGOW

WEBSITE: http://www.gla.ac.uk/schools/humanities/research/classicsresearch/irisproject/

CONTACT: Jennifer Hilder: jennifer.hilder@gla.ac.uk


THE UNIVERSITY OF KENT

WEBSITE: http://www.kent.ac.uk/secl/classics/

CONTACT: Dr Rosie Wyles: m.r.wyles@kent.ac.uk


KINGS’ COLLEGE, LONDON 

WEBSITE: www.kcl.ac.uk/artshums/depts/classics/about/outreach

CONTACT: Dr Sol Tor: shaul.tor@kcl.ac.uk


THE UNIVERSITY OF LEEDS

WEBSITE: http://www.leeds.ac.uk/arts/homepage/464/arts_educational_engagement

CONTACT: Esther Harper [ Educational Engagement Arts Assistant]: e.r.harper@leeds@ac.uk


THE UNIVERSITY OF LEICESTER

WEBSITE: www2.le.ac.uk/departments/archaeology/outreach-2

CONTACT: Debbie Miles-Williams [Outreach Officer]: deb@leicester.ac.uk


THE UNIVERSITY OF LIVERPOOL

WEBSITE: http://www.liv.ac.uk/archaeology-classics-and-egyptology/outreach/

CONTACT: Dr Glenn Godenho [Outreach Officer]: Glenn.Godenho@liv.ac.uk


UNIVERSITY COLLEGE, LONDON

WEBSITE:

www.ucl.ac.uk/classics/schools-and-colleges

www.ucl.ac.uk/classics/engagement

CONTACT: Dr Peter Agocs: p.agocs@ucl.ac.uk


THE UNIVERSITY OF MANCHESTER

WEBSITE: www.alc.manchester.ac.uk/subjects/classicsancienthistory/schools-community-engagement

CONTACT: Prof. Tim Parkin [Admissions Officer]: tim.parkin@manchester.ac.uk 


NEWCASTLE UNIVERSITY

WEBSITE: http://www.ncl.ac.uk/historical/about/classics/index.htm

CONTACT: Dr Joseph Skinner: joseph.skinner@ncl.ac.uk


THE UNIVERSITY OF NOTTINGHAM

WEBSITE: www.nottingham.ac.uk/classics/about/outreach/index.aspx

CONTACT: nocout@nottingham.ac.uk


THE UNIVERSITY OF OXFORD

WEBSITE: www.classics.ox.ac.uk/Outreach

CONTACT: Mai Musié [Outreach Officer, Faculty of Classics]: mai.musie@classics.ox.ac.uk


THE OPEN UNIVERSITY

WEBSITE: http://www.open.edu/openlearn/history-the-arts/history/classical-studies

CONTACT: Dr Elton Barker: elton.barker@open.ac.uk


QUEEN’S UNIVERSITY, BELFAST 

WEBSITE: http://www.qub.ac.uk/schools/SchoolofHistoryandAnthropology/

CONTACT: Dr John R. Curran [Associate Director of Theology]: john.curran@qub.ac.uk


THE UNIVERSITY OF READING

WEBSITE: www.reading.ac.uk/classics/knowledgetransfer/class-knowledgetransfer

CONTACT:  Prof Amy Smith [Outreach Director]: a.c.smith@reading.ac.uk


ROYAL HOLLOWAY

WEBSITE: www.royalholloway.ac.uk/classics/informationforschools/schoolsliaisonandoutreach

CONTACT: Dr Richard Hawley [Outreach Officer]: richard.hawley@royalholloway.ac.uk


THE UNIVERSITY OF ST ANDREWS

WEBSITE:

http://www.st-andrews.ac.uk/classics/research/impact

http://www.st-andrews.ac.uk/classic/research/podcasts

CONTACT:

Dr Jon Coulston: jcnc@st-andrews.ac.uk

Dr Ralph Anderson: rta1@st-andrews.ac.uk


SWANSEA UNIVERSITY

WEBSITE: www.swansea.ac.uk/artsandhumanities/hc/informationforschools

CONTACT: Dr Evelien Bracke: e.bracke@swansea.ac.uk


THE UNIVERSITY OF WALES TRINITY ST DAVID

WEBSITE: uwtsd.ac.uk/classics

CONTACT: Dr Jane Draycott: j.draycott@tsd.ac.uk


WARWICK UNIVERSITY

WEBSITE: www2.warwick.ac.uk/fac/arts/classics/research/outreach

CONTACT: Dr Michael Scott [Widening Participation & Outreach Officer]: m.c.scott@warwick.ac.uk

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s